Bugs for Chickens

Thanks to the people at the Marin Master Gardeners I found out my farm is infested with grubbs!

Bugs_for_Chickens

Bugs for Chickens

These pesky and strange looking soil mongrels hang out about 4-6 inches below the the top of the soil and reek havoc on the roots of your plants.

I learned earlier in the summer that when you find certain critters in your fields you need to look for them at a certain time of the year to prevent the next generation from returning. One idea was to turn the soil in the spring just before planting.

PepperBed_Fence

Cleared bed of grubbs

So I went ahead and turned the soil now as I’m preparing the beds for the winter. That’s when I found all these guys! Turns out the Marin Master Gardener had a good suggestion. They recommend placing the bugs out on an open space for birds to come and get them. I did that last weekend and gave a bunch to the crows. When I told my neighbor about the bugs she said her chickens would love to eat them. “They are full of fat!” she said.

Now when I dig up a new area on the farm I look for the bugs and collect them for Helen’s chickens. Now, Helen brings me eggs! How’s that for sustainable farming?

#     #     #

About Lakritz Family Farm

The Lakritz Family Farm - "It's Where We Grow"
This entry was posted in Bugs, Crops, Farming Education, Food, Organic, Seeds, Sustainability, Urban Farming, Vegetables and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

